Italians Nerone Win the 2011 Farr 40 Australian Championship

    Published on in News

    Nerone tuning up in light winds | Photo Michael Blackburn

    Nerone tuning up in light winds | Photo Michael Blackburn

    Massimo Mezzaroma’s Italian team Nerone has won the 2011 Farr 40 Australian Championship after three days of racing off Sydney Heads. Nerone, who are the defending Rolex Farr 40 World Champions, recorded a scorecard of 6,1,6,1,1,1,6,3, after the eight race series was wrapped up today.

    “It is great for us to repeat our result from December and we hope to show the same skills at the Worlds as in this regatta. We want to dedicate this regatta to Massimo Mezzaroma and all the new babies in the Nerone team. We are a little sad with no Massimo Mezzaroma last year we sailed the Worlds without Antonio and hopefully we will all sail together soon”, remarked Vasco Vascotto Nerone tactician.

    Racing today was on the offshore course on the Macquarie Circle after the race committee decided the race course inside the harbour would not provide a fair race course. Racing in a very light sou’east breeze the fleet managed to complete two races and possibly get a taste of potential conditions to come over the upcoming Rolex Farr 40 Worlds. The race committee had to shorten the last race when the breeze decided to drop out and the fleet was drifting down the course with zero’s registering on the instruments on a number of boats.

    The winner of the Corinthian division in the 2011 Farr 40 Australian Championship is Strunjte light from Germany owned by Wolfgang Schaefer. Strunjte won the same division in the Summer Sprint Series last weekend and have local sailor David Chapman calling tactics.

    “We are very happy to be here at a great event. It was very tough competition and some of the best sailing in the world. We have experienced great hospitality and it is fantastic to meet up with our Aussie friends in Sydney”, commented Schaefer.

    The 2010-2011 Australian Farr 40 Circuit winners were announced today with Lisa and Martin Hill taking out the circuit title for this season. In second place was Guido Belgiorno Nettis and third was Brett Neill.

    “It was again down to the wire for the circuit with Transfusion. It’s been great to see the regulars with Lang Walker, Chris Way and Jeff Carter at most of the circuit events and it is great to welcome back to the class Ivan Wheen, Ivan Resnekov, David Gotze and Marcus Blackmore. Having them and the international competitors involved in the circuit added to the fun and excitement. The local Australian Farr 40 circuit for 2011-2012 is looking great and carries on from the upcoming Worlds”, said Martin Hill.

    2011 Farr 40 Australian Championship final results:

    1 Nerone Massimo Mezzaroma/Antonio Sodo Migliori ITA 25
    2 Barking Mad James Richardson USA 32
    3 Estate Master Lisa & Martin Hill AUS 50
    4 Flash Gordon Helmut Jahn USA 53
    5 Transfusion Guido Belgiorno-Nettis AUS 60
    6 Goombay Smash William Douglass USA 63
    7 Voodoo Chile Andrew Hunn/Lloyd Clark AUS 69.71
    8 Plenty Alex Roepers USA 72
    9 White Cloud Brett Neill NZL 73
    10 Strunjte light Wolfgang Schaefer GER 77
    11 Edake Jeff Carter AUS 79
    12 Le Renard Steve Phillips USA 91
    13 Kokomo Lang Walker AUS 95
    14 Easy Tiger Chris Way AUS 101
    15 Sputnik Ivan Wheen AUS 104
    16 Hooligan Marcus Blackmore AUS 107
    17 Southern Star John Calvert-Jones & Damien King AUS 107
    18 Wired Stephen Boyes AUS 117
    19 iMpi Ivan Resnekov AUS 136
    20 Enigma David Gotze & Michael Cranitch AUS 152

    2011 Farr 40 Australian Championship Corinthian Division final results

    1 Strunjte light Wolfgang Schaefer GER
    2 Sputnik Ivan Wheen AUS
    3 Wired Stephen Boyes AUS
    4 iMpi Ivan Resnekov AUS
    5 Enigma David Gotze & Michael Cranitch AUS

    2010-2011 Australian Farr 40 Circuit

    1 Lisa and Martin Hill
    2 Guido Belgiorno Nettis
    3 Brett Neill