2010-2011 Australian Farr 40 Season off to a Flying Start

    Published on in News

    The 2010-2011 Australian Farr 40 season got underway today with racing at the Peppers Anchorage F40 regatta being held at Port Stephens on the mid north coast of New South Wales. Six teams are racing in this event with the Newcastle team from Phil Arnall’s Anger Management making their class racing debut.

    Current Australian Farr 40 Champion Guido Belgiorno Nettis’ Transfusion is leading after three races today with Lisa and Martin Hill’s Estate Master second on a count back and Chris Way’s Easy Tiger third after day one.

    Racing got underway in a 14 knot nor’ nor east breeze today and all boats completed to race to line up for race two. Jeff Carter’s Twin Edake was a little eager on the second start and was called over early. Anger Management had a difficult spinnaker drop at the bottom mark and had to recover the kite from under the boat.

    Race three and both Anger Management and Kokomo didn’t finish the race with every boat broaching at some stage during the downwind run and the race committee decided to finish racing for the day after the breeze picked up to consistently 25 knots.

    “We got three races in today in the weather window that we had after the predicted 40 knots didn’t show up at the start of the day. By the end of racing today we were seeing 30 knots of breeze across the course which was located north of Cabbage Tree Island”, commented PRO Denis Thompson.

    Racing continues over the weekend with the forecast for tomorrow to be breeze from the west to northwest at 25 to 35 knots, reaching 40 knots at times, tending westerly 25 to 30 knots during the afternoon. Seas are predicted up to 4 metres decreasing to 3 metres later in the evening and a north-easterly swell of about 2 metres.

    Provisional Results Day 1:

    1 Transfusion Guido Belgiorno Nettis MHYC 5

    2 Estate Master Lisa & Martin Hill MHYC 5

    3 Easy Tiger II Chris Way RPAYC 11

    4 Kokomo Lang Walker YCCS/NYYC 12

    5 Twin Edake Jeff Carter MHYC 14

    6 Anger Management Phil Arnall NCYC 20


    Transfusion | photo by Sam Crichton